Yet Another Bulletin Board

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 19th, 2024, 6:24pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Member Map Member Map Login Login Register Register
Clusterheadaches.com Message Board « Newbie First Post »

Clusterheadaches.com Message Board
   New Message Board Archives
   2006-2007 Getting to Know Ya Posts
(Moderator: DJ)
   Newbie First Post
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Newbie First Post  (Read 246 times)
circus1031
New Board Newbie
USA 

HE Who Gets Headaches

Newbie First Post
« on: Apr 3rd, 2006, 11:08am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello All,

Here's my story. I'm a 24 year old graduate student in the greater Philly area. I first started getting CH when I was 18, my freshmen year of college. I tried ignoring them, thinking it was midterm stress but they persisted and I began notice patterns of arrivals.  (It's been great reading everyon'es name for their headaches, I actually began writing a short story for class about a little demonic sprite named Cromwell that caused them) Anyway, went to health services they were confused and quite useless and sent me to the hospital for a Catscan and found nothing. Eventually they went away. Until a year later. Went to my doctor at home and he attributed it to high blood pressure. Gave me some medication and eventually they went away. Year after year they came, did research of my own and did a self diagnosis. (I'm rather stubborn and have a distrust for doctors) I fought and struggled through my cycles, lasting about 6 weeks or so.  

This past year I've met a great girl who is  wonderfully supportive. She made me go find a neurologist my insurance covered. Made an appointment, sure enough Cluster Headaches. Put me on Imitrex (pill 100mg) which would help if I took them as soon as shadows began. I made it through that cycle (last summer>fall.)