Yet Another Bulletin Board

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 15th, 2024, 8:26pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Member Map Member Map Login Login Register Register
Clusterheadaches.com Message Board « Dealing with CH and other pain »

Clusterheadaches.com Message Board
   Cluster Headache Help and Support
   Cluster Headache Specific
(Moderator: DJ)
   Dealing with CH and other pain
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Dealing with CH and other pain  (Read 622 times)
SophiaK
CH.com Alumnus
New Board Junior
USA 

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Dealing with CH and other pain
« on: Feb 19th, 2006, 2:27pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am new to CH, I have back pain that is severe, caused by injuries sustained over a lifetime.
My question is: I notice that many on th board say not to use ibuprofon because they can cause 'rebound' headaches.  
I awoke at 3:30 this AM with back pain and CH, the CH played out but the back pain wouldn't let me rest, so I took Ibuprofon.
Is this a question of fixing one and making the other worse?
I never had CH until late December. I am taking 80mg of Verapamil and so far haven't recieved any real benefit from it. I had a adverse reaction to Topamax.
From what I see on the message board I could be  
'chronic'.  
IP Logged
Jasmyn
CH.com Alumnus
New Board Hall of Famer
Mozambique 

Each day will be a new trick in life's journey

JazzdeBeer+de+Beer  
Email

Re: Dealing with CH and other pain
« Reply #1 on: Feb 19th, 2006, 4:01pm »

Welcome Sophia.

I'm sorry you've got CH but glad that you found us.  This is the best place to be.

I'll only comment on the Verapamil.  It takes about 2 weeks to kick in.  If you've been taking it for more than 2 weeks, see your doc again and ask him to up your dosage.  Most of us here use 240mg x2 or more per day to benefit from it.