Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
ADA (Read 3667 times)
Mandy
Ex Member

ADA
Oct 21st, 2008 at 4:52pm

Are clusters covered by the ADA act? If you lose your job because of clusters, are you protected? I was wrote up today for leaving my work station to go to my car to use my tank. One more write up and I will lose my job.

IP Logged

ninja mom
CH.com Alumnus

Re: ADA
Reply #1 - Oct 21st, 2008 at 5:12pm

Check headache links to the left of this page...I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV, but I think most employers probably need to attempt to accomodate a disability. 
I am on SS disability due to chronic cluster headaches, so yes, CH can be considered a disability.  (A bit of a shock that was, having the government agree with me) Shocked

PFDAN
kathy

Words count, chose carefully.

IP Logged

Mandy
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Oct 21st, 2008 at 5:18pm

Thank you Kathy, though I am episodic a public episode is rare. I try to keep this under wraps as much as possible. I had a verbal warning for leaving my station last week, and a written one today. I have read the note for employers and think that will not go over well with them. How can I approach them without freaking them out, I should only have another 3 weeks to go before I am PF again.

IP Logged

Ungweliante
CH.com Veteran

Happiness comes from personal
choice \o/

Helsinki, Finland
Reply #3 - Oct 21st, 2008 at 6:22pm

My advice, although I don't know if it's a good one, is to show them how bad your headaches exactly are. Don't take any abortives, have a nice and painful public attack at your post.

That should make those bastards at least understand what you're going through.