Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hello world (Read 1845 times)
Keith Lee
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Hello world
Oct 26th, 2008 at 3:02am

I'm Keith. I live in Lexington, Kentucky, with my wife and our three beautiful dogs. I work as a public relations hack for a university medical center. My hobbies include friends, food, movies, sarcasm, and avoiding housework. I also spend way too much time on the Internet.

Any other relevant details about me will probably become evident in subsequent postings. Here's my CH history for those who want to compare notes.

I am a 37-year-old male with a 15-year history of episodic cluster headache. A family-practice physician made the diagnosis about 8 years ago after a normal CT scan.  My cluster periods occur once or twice a year (almost always around the change of seasons at the start of fall and sometimes spring), and they usually last 4-5 weeks.

Attacks happen once or twice daily, about the same time each day, and they last from 45 minutes to three hours. Key symptoms are rapid onset of severe pain (right-temporal and periorbital), with right-sided nasal congestion, localized forehead sweating and some tearing in the right eye.

Intranasal sumitriptan (20 mg) is effective at aborting  most attacks. Twice in the past ten years I have been treated in the emergency room when sumitriptan failed. Both times I received an injection (DHE? Demerol? I do not know what, because it fairly well knocked me out.)  Oxygen was given once, but it did not bring significant relief; however, it may have been administered at an insufficient flow rate.

And there you have it, from the dismal frontiers of neuroscience.

IP Logged

thebbz
Ex Member

Re: Hello world
Reply #1 - Oct 26th, 2008 at 3:10am

Nice to meet ya Keith. welcome to the party.