Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
cluster headaches and finals (Read 12623 times)
ohioterpes
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

cluster headaches and finals
Dec 9th, 2008 at 4:43pm

hey i am 18 and have had cluster headaches since i was in the 7th grade, i am now a freshman in college and i have just been hit with another attack. only problem is i have finals this week and reading is well you know. with me the only thing that relives my pain is opiates such as vicoden or stadol injections, fallowed by a injection of steroid and a round of oral steroids. however i am away from my nerologist and am unable to get these shots until after my exams are over and i manage to drive back home. i was woundering if anyone had tips on dealing with the pain with out being on an opiate for the pain but still be able to focus on an exam for 3-6 hours?

IP Logged

seasonalboomer
CH.com Hall of Famer

CH messes with my isness

Charlotte, NC
Re: cluster headaches and finals
Reply #1 - Dec 9th, 2008 at 5:05pm

Oxygen at 15 lpm with a non-rebreather mask is #1 for me.

Has your doctor ever given you Imitrex injections to use?

It would be considered somewhat rare to apply opiates to this condition as opiates rarely offer much help to most sufferers. Are you using a neurologist that is familiar with cluster headaches?

Scott

IP Logged

ohioterpes
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Reply #2 - Dec 9th, 2008 at 5:59pm