Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Logistical advice for negotiating with supervisors (Read 2058 times)
Amstaveley
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Logistical advice for negotiating with supervisors
Mar 15th, 2012 at 10:45am

Morning all (or afternoon/evening/etc)

I'm trying to find some advice about negotiating some serious deadlines I have coming up. I am a 13 year cluster sufferer (episodic) and have thus far managed to meet most of my obligations in day to day life for the most part. However, I am a PhD student coming up on my qualifying exams in the first week in April. Herein lies the problem.

The exams are 5 days of writing done from home which last 9 hours per day. During that time we are asked analytic and theoretical questions on which we are expected to write 30-40 pages of critical essays per day. The exams themselves wouldn't be so bad if it weren't for the cycle ramping up as we speak...

I put the exams off in the fall of 2010 due to a 10 week headache cycle, and then was further delayed by committee sabbaticals the following 2 semesters. There is no way I can live in poor PhD (monetarily) student status anymore and putting my exams off again is a non-starter. To get to the crux of my issue, I have no idea how to ask for some special concessions while writing.