Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Not quite new (Read 5441 times)
UKJoeK
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Not quite new
Jul 17th, 2017 at 1:56pm

Hi all, I’m not really a newbie.  I used to be a regular visitor, perhaps as long as 10 years ago, which tells you how good the past 10 years have been.  It was tempting to believe CH was a thing of the past for me, but I never fully believed it if I’m honest.

I had typical CH initially. It began when I was 18 in 1992. My bouts came every spring for about 2 weeks and weren’t all that bad with hindsight.  I had an 18 month remission between 1996 and Oct 1997 and then a longer remission until August 1999, but the bouts were worse.  Diagnosis came in 2000, I think.  I haven’t had a ‘typical’ bout since then.   

My CH has been dominated with bouts of shadows.  I’ve had lots of these episodes, the first in summer 2000.  They don’t come at a specific time of year but they almost always begin before a holiday.  There’s clearly a connection.  Only once have I had a genuine attack during one of these bouts, and that was after a night drinking at altitude.  Since 2000, I’ve had perhaps as few as 5 real, full-on CH attacks and these have almost all come completely without warning.  I took verapamil in 2002, 2003 and 2004 after the attacks started and it apparently stopped them immediately.  I also took it continuously between 2004 and approx. 2008 but still got shadows.  I never once had an attack while taking verapamil but my bouts of shadows seemed almost continuous at times.