Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Oxygen fire hazards (Read 1014 times)
RickJim
CH.com Junior

Giving up is not an option.

Vancouver, British Columbia
Oxygen fire hazards
Mar 2nd, 2021 at 12:59pm

Hello friends -

I am in a bad cycle and I have been using oxygen a lot in the last few days. One M tank of O2 goes by in 5 days or less.

I am concerned about the fire hazards, since I am new to oxygen and I have been experimenting with it. Not sure how much pure oxygen I am releasing into my apartment.
I live in a small apartment, and with the Canadian winter, it is hard to keep my apartment properly ventilated.
Since you guys most certainly use oxygen as much as I do, what are the safety precautions I should take? For how long do you advise me to ventilate my apartment after a busy night of O2 use? What about clothes impregnated with oxygen?  Any advice will certainly help!

Thanks in advance,
RickJ

Thanks

Rick
https://www.facebook.com/rjimenezt  
IP Logged

AussieBrian
CH.com Hall of Famer

CH - It's all in your
head!

Cairns, Qld, Australia
Re: Oxygen fire hazards
Reply #1 - Mar 2nd, 2021 at 8:14pm

I can understand your concern, mate.  I recall other times this has been discussed one of the things to watch out for is O2 concentrated on your clothing when you're about to light the gas stove or a cigarette.

A quick chat with your local fire officers might be enlightening  (pardon the pun)  and I'd be interested to hear what they suggest.

An ounce of prevention etc,

Brian down under.

My name is Brian. I'm a ClusterHead and I'm here to help. Email me anytime at briandinkum@yahoo.com

IP Logged

Peter510
CH.com Alumnus

Don't give out... But
don't give in.

Wexford. Ireland
Reply #2 - Mar 3rd, 2021 at 10:29am

Rick,

This might help: