Yet Another Bulletin Board

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 17th, 2024, 1:31am

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Member Map Member Map Login Login Register Register
Clusterheadaches.com Message Board « I'm new here and wishing you and I didn't have to »

Clusterheadaches.com Message Board
   New Message Board Archives
   2006-2007 Getting to Know Ya Posts
(Moderator: DJ)
   I'm new here and wishing you and I didn't have to
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: I'm new here and wishing you and I didn't have to  (Read 260 times)
Geoff
New Board Newbie
USA 

Email

I'm new here and wishing you and I didn't have to
« on: Jul 22nd, 2007, 2:28pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

So many places to post I'm very confused, and that's scarey. I guess I need to start here.
Call me Geoff!  

I'm a classical musician for 40 years now.
I never heard of cluster headaches until this June when I found out first hand.  I started  getting 2-3 attacks everyday for 2 weeks and I finally checked into a hopsital.  It was the worse pain I've ever experienced. I was taking Imitrex when an attack would occur and after leaving the hospital I was on steroids for 2 weeks and now just varapamil.  I did have two lidocaine injections into my neck as well.  
I didn't sleep at all those 2 weeks or even in the hospital. As soon as I tried to lie down the pain would start so I just sat at my pc and researched clusters.  I guess they will come back next season.  
What made it worse was the imitrex was $26 a pill and I was needing 2-3 a day. That scared the hell out of me. My neurologist finally GAVE me 8 injection refills. and my regular doc gave me a voucher for 9 free pills.  I've used one injection and one pill since leaving the hospital so I've got enough for a while if the cluster returns.