Yet Another Bulletin Board

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 14th, 2024, 11:19pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Member Map Member Map Login Login Register Register
Clusterheadaches.com Message Board « My surivvor kit »

Clusterheadaches.com Message Board
   Cluster Headache Help and Support
   Cluster Headache Specific
(Moderator: DJ)
   My surivvor kit
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: My surivvor kit  (Read 674 times)
efzd
New Board Newbie

If you can't handle it, kill it

My surivvor kit
« on: Mar 18th, 2006, 8:19am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Even though I don't know any of you here, I feel that ALL of you are my best friends.
This is why I feel I need to tell a little about the way I fight the devil.  
It must be noted that the things I am saying here are working for me as an episode CH, it may work for others, but I am not a doctor.

The enemy comes once every 2-4 years in the last 30 years (starting in the age of 16) to a 2-3 month visit.

The followings are my survivor kit:

1. Listen to your body: CH usually comes when the internal clock wakes it, in these cases there is not a lot you can do, but there are many other cases where the pain comes because of external parameters. If you "listen" to your body carefully, eat and drink on time, don’t smoke or drink alcohol, you will reduce dramatically the amount of attacks.
2. Water (WWW), Sugar (SSS) and red bull are working for me in the first weeks of the cycles, drinking a lot and holding your body on High level of sugar may reduce the amount and intensity of the pain.
3. Pain killers: Don't think they can help; this will cause you painful level 8-10 attacks. The only thing they can do (sometime) is to Relief after attack shadows.
4. Oxygen: Usually blocks the attack after 15 minutes and put you in a pain free situation, the disadvantages in Oxygen are: