Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Thank you, now it's my turn to say hello. (Read 1534 times)
melonhead
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Thank you, now it's my turn to say hello.
Aug 5th, 2008 at 2:20pm

Hello All,

I'm new to the message board, but not new to the site.  I've been helped immensely through reading your thoughts, suggestions and experiences, now it's my turn to introduce myself.

My name is Chad and I'm 36.  I've had clusters for 6 years, the first 4 being episodic (only got them in fall/winter months) and now chronic.  As with a lot of you, I went through three neurologists until I found a decent one that knew anything.  I won't go into detailed accounts of my experiences- we all know how terrible they are and we all deal with pain differently.  I understand and relate to all these posts and know that sometimes it helps to vent.

I'm currently on 200mg of verapamil daily and use O2 and Imitrex 4mg injections for abortives.  Thanks to this site, I've also found relief from heavily caffienated beverages when the shadows start.  These are the only things I've found relief from (long term, I don't count the short relief you get from prednisone- for me they always start back up right away afterwards).  

I've only been on the Verapamil for less than a year and it really inturrupted my CH's for several weeks.  Then they slowly started occuring more frequently, although less severe.  The last three weeks I'm back up to 3+ headaches a day progressively more severe (usually 11pm, 2-3am and 9-10am) and am wondering if more Verapamil will do the trick?  I've been told this is a relatively low dose.  Sure, I can talk about it with my Neuro, but I'm interested in what you all have to say.  I'm also under a lot of stress lately and know from experience it can be a trigger.