Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Reaction to imitrex injection? (Read 3027 times)
Dreamofire
CH.com Newbie

MMMMMGGGGRRRRRRRRR!!
!!!!!!!!!!!

Kearney, Missouri
Reaction to imitrex injection?
Dec 18th, 2008 at 11:06am

Hey,  I'm a 23 year old paramedic and 10 year episode sufferer of CH, but just recently have been actualy diagnosed.  I took my first imitrex injection today.  and it worked great! and I'm am very excited about that!  However I had a slight reaction as well. Burning all over,  sort of like putting menthol on your skin.  it kinof tingled and it kindof burned.  mostly on the back of my neck.  Also tightness in all of my muscles.  It was a very odd feeling and I'm not sure I liked it, but ....Hey it was much much better than an attack.  I guess my question is:  Has anyone else out there had any similar reactions to the injections.  I was concerned that this was an allergic reaction but I had no difficulty breathing so I let it slide.   I'm a paramedic and I think it safe to say If I need to use it again I'll be at work were treatmnet can be instant if it is a reaction.  Any thoughts or similar experienses please share.

idreamofire  
IP Logged

gizmo
CH.com Hall of Famer

Germany
Re: Reaction to imitrex injection?
Reply #1 - Dec 18th, 2008 at 11:48am

I would call my doc (gp or neuro) with ANY strange reaction to Trex ASAP.

Just my 0.02€

Oliver

IP Logged

CH-HELL
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Dec 18th, 2008 at 12:08pm

I have had these reactions for years,  sore musles and joints, burning skin.  When I mentioned it to my doctor he didn't seemed too concerned.
  I started doing half doses of imi and some of these reactions are lessened.

IP Logged

Bob Johnson
CH.com Alumnus

"Only the educated are
free." -Epictetus

Kennett Square, PA (USA)