Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Topamax? (Read 2068 times)
SL
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Topamax?
Oct 28th, 2009 at 6:25pm

I have been on Topamax for over 4 weeks for migraines. I just now upped the  Topamax to 100mg. At first I did a couple of silly things but getting rid of the pain was worth staying on the Topamax. Now I feel like I am losing my mind.

I am not a rocket scientist or anything but I wouldn’t usually consider myself stupid. Lately though I have been forgetting and messing up the simplest things. I work as a receptionist so my job all day is talking. On the phone, when people come in the door…I have to talk. When I have been answering the phone I mess up my words, say the wrong thing, etc. Also I can have a conversation with someone and then later forget it or not remember it correctly. This is not like me at all.  I get lost when I am driving to familiar places. I forget peoples’ names. The other day someone called and asked to speak with someone and I could not remember who that person was. I knew that I knew the name but it was like I could not place it. It took me awhile and I was trying to stall but the person on the other end was getting a little irritated. Rightly so. It was so weird. The person they were asking for I work with everyday!!! I know who she is. I really feel like I am losing my mind.

Does this wear off? If I keep taking it is it going to get better? If not, can I just stop it today or do I need to wean off? I know I need to talk to my neurologist and I plan to. Before I spend the money on yet another visit and go in there though I would like some first hand experiences from people that have experience with it. I WANT this medication to work. More like I NEED this medication to work but I can’t go on like this for much longer.  Sad