Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
More O2 advice please.... (Read 2826 times)
Matt1993
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

More O2 advice please....
Jan 22nd, 2011 at 2:28pm

Hello everyone.  I'm a newbie that just registered last night.  I found a lot of great advice on this site, but I'm running into some new problems that maybe some of you have had before.  My Dr. has started me on a new therapy that includes O2, prednesone and verapamil.  I aborted a CH last night using 15LPM and a non-re breather and I thought I had found a miracle.  Well, for me the O2 has just made me have more CHs.  They are far better on the KIP scale but I feel handcuffed to the house now.  I used to use the nasal Imitrex when the beast came and I would wander the neighborhood till it kicked in.  My Dr. says no more Imitrex, says they cause rebound headaches and it raises my blood pressure to dangerous levels.  Problem is it works.  I would use one and I wouldn't have another one till the next night.  Now that I use the O2.  It aborts the CH but I wake up 1-2 hours later with another.  I went thru two "E" tanks in the last 15 hours and am having CH #4.  It is bearable maybe a 4 on the KIP scale, but I'm not sure what is worse. 4 mild ones or 1 big one.  I felt like I could go places as long as I had an Imitrex w/me.  I keep one in each car, one at the office and the rest at home.
I want the O2 to work, but like everything else in life these days the quick fix seems more desirable.  Do I look into getting the higher flow regulator and an on-demand mask or what?  I don't know how much more my family can take.  Two weeks ago I was laid up with the flu for a week and now I'm in the living room sucking on O2 every two hours!  Anyone experienced this?  Thanks for any input.

IP Logged

Potter
CH.com Alumnus