Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
john Hopkins appointment (Read 2408 times)
Bonnie lee
CH.com Veteran

I Love CH.com!

john Hopkins appointment
Feb 9th, 2012 at 5:45pm

Well i went to my appointment at john hopkins yesterday. Final diagnosis Cluster headaches and occipital neuralgia. They are starting me on topamax and if that doesnt work they are talking about nerve blockers. Has anybody had that done? does it work at all?

IP Logged

MeL
CH.com Junior

Carpe Diem!

Cleveland, Ohio
Re: john Hopkins appointment
Reply #1 - Feb 9th, 2012 at 6:30pm

Hi Bonnie Lee!

I personally took Topamax for a short while and it was a no go.  I couldn't remember basic information like how to start an IV and since I'm a nurse, that was a big problem!  I was started on Zonegran and it has worked decently for my Migraines, not the CH's. 

As for the Nerve Blocks, I have not had these done.  I do work in surgery and work with Surgeons who perform pain/nerve blocks and knew one patient who had them done for cluster headaches.  The surgeons say they can be very painful and they are no guarantees that it's going to work.  The patient that I saw every time he came in for the blocks was very happy with the results.  He did say they were mighty painful, BUT it didn't compare to a bad CH. 

I'm sorry I'm not familiar with your history, have you tried the Verapamil/O2 yet?

If we don't take care of ourselves, who will?

IP Logged

Bonnie lee
CH.com Veteran

I Love CH.com!

Reply #2 - Feb 9th, 2012 at 6:54pm

I am a nurse too!!!! Yes i am on veramipil and oxygen also sumaptriptan nasal spray and injections. well I am gonna start the topamax tonight and see what happens.

IP Logged

MeL
CH.com Junior

Carpe Diem!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reply #3 - Feb 9th, 2012 at 7:37pm