Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie from Germany having a hard time (Read 2264 times)
Clarice15
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Germany
Newbie from Germany having a hard time
Apr 28th, 2016 at 10:05pm

Hi everyone!
I'm totally new to this kind of message board, hope I don't mess up to badly. I'm 22 years old, my attacks started a year ago but I might have had them when I was a child (12-13 years old). I had severe headaches then but they weren't diagnosed, so now I suspect those were actually my first attacks.
Luckily I was diagnosed quite fast this time, I was set up with oxygen and my doc prescribed Verapamil which totally crushed my BP even though I was just in the starting phase.  So I changed to Topiramat (2x25mg/d). For emergencies I have sprays.
My attacks were more frequent (3-5 in 24 hrs, usually at least two at night) now it's thankfully more like 2 per week. That also means I can't predict them, they're off schedule now. I am scared of the pain. I can't sleep when I haven't had one in a few days, I am so scared to wake up in pain. I once tried to scratch the pain away during an attack at night and gave myself a scar over my eyebrow. So I constantly switch between being exhausted to sleeping until noon at the moment.