Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hi everyone (Read 2567 times)
valomilks
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

United States
Hi everyone
Dec 28th, 2017 at 9:30pm

Hi everyone, long-time lurker, first time poster.  Smiley

My name is Mary and I'm a 21-year-old college student from the United States. I started having cluster headaches several months ago around late April, so I'm a fairly new CH sufferer. At first I wasn't sure what was wrong with me. I thought it was sinus headache or something, and I didn't have a GP so I had no way of treating it. Nothing seemed to work, and the campus doctors/urgent care doctors didn't seem to know what was going on either. Finally I was referred to a neurologist in September who diagnosed me with CH and put me on Lamictal, which has done miracles for me so far.

This website has been a godsend for me in the past - just wanted to reach out and say Hello and connect with other CH suffers. CH is so demoralizing. It's nice to have community and support.

Hope all is well, wishing you PFDAN <3
« Last Edit: May 28th, 2018 at 4:17pm by valomilks »  

IP Logged

Mike NZ
CH.com Hall of Famer

Oxygen rocks! D3 too!

Auckland, New Zealand
Re: Hi everyone
Reply #1 - Dec 29th, 2017 at 1:05am

Hi and welcome Mary

Although lamictal isn't something commonly given as a preventive, other medications of the same type are used as both migraine and CH preventives. So it is great that you've something that works well for you.

Have you got any CH abortives for when your preventive doesn't work? Something like oxygen or imitrex? This means you can kill off any CH which break through avoiding you having to ride out the CH (which isn't at all fun).

IP Logged

valomilks
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

United States
Reply #2 - Dec 29th, 2017 at 10:27pm