Yet Another Bulletin Board

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 18th, 2024, 12:51pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Member Map Member Map Login Login Register Register
Clusterheadaches.com Message Board « First Post to Board »

Clusterheadaches.com Message Board
   New Message Board Archives
   Medications, Treatments, Therapies 2002
(Moderator: DJ)
   First Post to Board
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: First Post to Board  (Read 219 times)
elcid

Email

First Post to Board
« on: Apr 4th, 2002, 9:27pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I have been a clusterhead since 1978.  I am a 48 year old female. I work as a nurse in the field of occupational medicine. My clusters are episodic occurring approx. every other spring and fall.  They usually last 2+ months.  I am 4 weeks into an episode at this time with 2-4 daily.  I was very fortunate that my first dr. (an internist) was familiar with clusters and referred me to a neurologist right away.  I have taken many drugs over the years.  Imitrex injections are my drug of choice but oh so expensive.  Maxalt has also worked but of course more slowly.  What I want to pass on is that after reading the message board this past Sunday I found info. on Neurontin for breaking the cycle.  I had a whole scrip on hand as I was prescribed it for relief of low back pain but did not take it as I had epidural injections scheduled very close to the same time.  I began taking it Monday morning per the dosing schedule.  100mg 3X per day for 2 days, 200mg 3X per day for 2 days and tomorrow will go to 300mg 3X per day.  I had a dr. visit today and she said to keep taking this dose for at least one month.  I have not had any headaches since yesterday morning and as of this morning the foggy feeling I always have during the cycle is gone.  I was my normal self.  Miracle of miracles.  I see from previou