Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
new at this oxygen thing (Read 3045 times)
TRG
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

new at this oxygen thing
Jun 9th, 2008 at 9:58pm

Hello, I am new to this. My husband has been diagnosed w/ch.  He has had a headache every night for three weeks now. Neuro. just put him on oxygen. He has taken it three times for about 15 min. at a time time already tonight. How long should he do it for? He keeps going asleep. i take it off and then he ends up needing it again.

IP Logged

Brew
Ex Member

Re: new at this oxygen thing
Reply #1 - Jun 9th, 2008 at 10:10pm

It is not intended for the patient to fall asleep while on 100% O2. You should not have to "take it off." Cut that strap off the mask right away. If both of you were to fall asleep and his tank emptied, he could suffocate.

Try to encourage him to sit up and hold the mask to his face while he uses it.

IP Logged

Barry_T_Coles
CH.com Alumnus

Karratha|,West_Australia
Reply #2 - Jun 9th, 2008 at 10:56pm

A couple of important things to remember when using oxygen; get on to it as soon as you feel a hit coming on, flow rate at least 12 litres per minute & you must stay on it for the same amount of time after you have killed the hit as it took to kill it, now that may not make a lot of sense but here’s the deal: count the amount of breaths it takes to kill the hit then stay on the oxygen for the same amount of breaths this should stop rebound headaches that you probably wont be able to get rid of.
I can usually abort a hit with about 80 to 100 breaths but I breathe straight from the bag as I have a beard & can’t get a proper seal with the mask.

Cheers
Barry

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register