Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Maxalt vs Imitrex (Read 18812 times)
BrettK
CH.com Junior

It could be worse...

Anchorage, Alaska
Maxalt vs Imitrex
Jun 10th, 2008 at 2:05pm

I'm a newbie on this site but I've be using Maxalt successfully as an abortive for 3 years now.  The beast visits me about 60% of the year so I've used a good amount of Maxalt and would recommend it.  It is a soft, easily dissolved tablet that you let dissolve in your mouth.  It takes about 30 seconds to dissolve and it aborts my HA in about 5 minutes.

Do the Imitrex injections do much better for you all?  I'm kinda thinking "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" as far as Maxalt vs Imitrex.

Wishing you all PF days,

Brett

IP Logged

maalstroom
CH.com Old Timer

''Dance to my tune''....
the hell I will!

the Netherlands
Re: Maxalt vs Imitrex
Reply #1 - Jun 10th, 2008 at 2:39pm

If it works for you.... as they say, why change a winning team?
Tried Maxalt melting tablets (is that the proper English term?) but unfortunately haven't benefited from them. I use the Imitrex injectables for the really nasty ones, imitrex tablets for the Kip6 and 7's, and a few cans of a red bull rip-off for persistant shadows who threaten to develop.

...AND AS A FINISHING TOUCH, GOD CREATED THE DUTCH.

IP Logged

Brew
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Jun 10th, 2008 at 3:45pm

Interesting that you say it works in 5 minutes. Rizatriptan is absorbed in the gut, not the membranes of the mouth. The MLT version - the one that melts in your mouth - was designed so that you could take it anywhere, without a glass of water.

Most anyone around here who's used it will tell you it doesn't take effect for about 30 minutes. Could it be that your headache was about to abort itself anyhow? There's only one way to find out.

IP Logged

BrettK