Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 
Send Topic Print
Cluster Headache CURE (Read 24448 times)
Potter
Ex Member

Re: Cluster Headache CURE
Reply #100 - Sep 3rd, 2013 at 6:09pm

bakedcluster wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 4:43pm:
[quote author=262930363120371A03372020450 link=1353155012/75#75 date=1354126637]Nope I’m not speaking for Dr. Shevel, I’m quoting him. As I recall him saying to me that, “
I can give you meds but if we do the ligation to artery your cluster headache will be gone for good

Although the previous threads here are relatively old, I have read them all with great interest. I am a newbie to the site but comment as my husband is a CH sufferer, we also live in SA and he has been to Shevel for the ligation treatment. I am very happy for Cluster Headache CURE that he found relief in the treatment he received (unfortunately in my husband's case, he was not so fortunate).
In retrospect, I would have done FAR more research than that which we did pre-treatment and even now would warn anyone considering the treatment, to SERIOUSLY not consider it.  Desperation can lead to silly decisions and that is the case with us.  Not only have we spent thousands of rands on having the treatment done - hence I have highlighted the sentence posted in Cluster Headache CURE's post above - my husband was told the precise same thing - seems to be a pitch in selling the procedure to possible candidates.
To cut a rather long story short, not only did the first ligation procedure not work (involved one cut on either side at the back of his head, cuts on each temple, cut above the right eyebrow, as well as cutting inside the mouth), he went back to Shevel as the CH did not cease. And he went back twice more after that - having two separate procedures done in one day. Botox injections did not work.